Book Review: Untamed (Splintered Series Companion) by Anita G. Howard

Review News

***To those of you  who get my e-mailed posts:  Sorry about the unfinished post earlier today.  I was working on my tablet and instead of hitting draft, I accidentally hit publish instead.  Here’s the finished product!

As you’ve read in the previous post, I have a new love of embroidery because Plus Size clothes haven’t caught up with my particular fashion sense.  In a very small way, my new little obsession coincides with the book I’m reviewing.  Some of Alyssa’s clothes are handmade by her best friend because the clothing industry doesn’t make Prom dresses in her style.

By the way, I’ve added a number of new books to my Future Book Review section down below.  Some of them have the dates when they’ll be released in 2016.  I have quite a bit of catching up to do since I’ve already read five of the books listed and I want to read the ones with release dates fast so I can get the review up as soon as possible.  That’s why the Untamed review is before the Ruin and Rising review.



Barnes and Noble


Untamed_coverThis book is a collection of three ebook novellas (The Boy in the Web, The Moth in the Mirror, and Six Impossible Things).  Some authors of YA novels love to release these as the series progresses to give their readers some background information on certain characters or to give readers insight into what happened after the supposed Happily ever after ending.

The first novella, The Boy in the Web, follows Allison (Alyssa’s mother) when she was a teenager attempting to retrieve the red crown and rule the Red Court.  It gives more detail into Allison’s motives for going after the crown and why she let go of the desire when she encountered Alyssa’s father.

Given Allison’s background, a reader can understand why she wanted the crown so badly.  When she let go of the dream to rescue Alyssa’s father, that proved her strength of character.  I didn’t approve of Allison not telling her daughter of Wonderland.  Since she knew Morpheus’s unique character, she would know that it was only a matter of time before his plans affected Alyssa.

What’s the cliched saying?  Forewarned is forearmed.  Although, half the things that happened in the trilogy would never have occurred if Alyssa was already warned.  Not to mention, she would never fall for Morpheus.

The second novella, The Moth in the Mirror, gives us insight into Morpheus’s feelings when he had to wait for Alyssa mortal life to end.  I knew Morpheus would never let go of his dislike for Jeb after all they’ve been through together.

It’s good to see Morpheus showing some real emotions instead of fake emotions designed to get a desired response from someone he’s attempting to manipulate.  While Morpheus was my favorite love interest over Jeb, it was a little frustrating that the author was stingy with any of his real emotions.

This particular story brings the readers into Morpheus’s budding plot to ruin Alyssa and Jeb’s relationship so Alyssa will start her rule in Wonderland sooner than anticipated.  To do that, he sneaks a peak at Jeb’s lost memories to help form his plan.

Morpheus did gain some humanity when he turned himself into a child and grew up with Alyssa, but that didn’t mean he knew what it was like to be human.  Trekking through Jeb’s memories gave him that experience and ultimately showed him that sabotaging the loving relationship between Alyssa and Jeb would be the worst thing he ever did.

I enjoyed this novella, it gave more depth into Morpheus than I received from the series.  The last novella in the book rounded out the character for me.

The third novella, Six Impossible Things, showed readers what happened after the Happily ever after between Alyssa and Morpheus.  It begins with a basic rundown of Alyssa’s human life with Jeb, her children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren.  I like how Howard didn’t sugarcoat Alyssa’s human life.  It lends a bit of reality even though this is a fiction book.

She does, however, give a happy ending to Alyssa and Morpheus.  They’re immortal, he’s suffered for many years, and they deserve it.

It’s also a sweetly fun way to discover how Morpheus handles childbirth.  This is where we get to see the two be vulnerable with each other, which is slightly un-Wonderlandish of them.  Yet, their in a relationship so they get a pass.

Overall, I enjoyed all three novellas.  Howard ties up the loose ends nicely, and she leaves it open for a new book or series.  Of course it’s on my bookshelf because I like it and the series would be incomplete without it.

Future Book Reviews

***Will not be reviewed in this order.Books-2-icon

  • Insanity (Mad in Wonderland) by Cameron Jace
  • Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie
  • The Glittering Court by Rachelle Mead (April 5th)
  • A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book #2) by Sarah J. Maas (May 3rd)
  • Ruined by Amy Tintera (May 3rd)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts I & II by J. K. Rowling (July 31st)
  • The Beauty of Darkness (The Remnant Chronicles Book #3) by Mary E. Pearson (August 2nd)
  • Witch’s Pyre (The Worldwalker Trilogy Book #3) by Josephine Angelini
  • Elemental Trilogy by Sherry Thomas
    • The Burning Sky
    • The Perilous Sea
    • The Immortal Heights
  • Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell
  • Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan
  • Glass Sword (Book 2 Red Queen Series) by Victoria Aveyard
  • The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine
  • The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
    • Ruin and Rising

Want to see what I’m currently reading or curious about past book reviews?  

Go to my Reading Common Sense page.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s