Book Review: Firewalker by Josephine Angelini

Review News

I meant to get this out Saturday night.  Instead, I wrote this Sunday night and managed to get it out today.  What can I say?  A good book beckons me to stay up and read it, but my body prizes sleep after working for a living.  Teens are exhausting.  Ask any mother who’s had one or a couple.  Try keeping up with hundreds of them a day.  I’d like to see you stay up and read a whole book after that.

Firewalker (Book #2 The Worldwalker Trilogy) by Josephine Angelini

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

IMG_0005This book picks up where the last left off.  Lily and Rowan made it to Lily’s home universe.  I’m not going to say safely.  Even if parallel world jumping Sliders style was possible, I doubt it would ever be safe.

Now that Lily found her way home and has the hunky, hard-won Rowan to heal her, she should be safe from the evils of Lillian.  Nothing is ever simple.

This time Lily’s facing dangers from her universe and the parallel universe.  A zealous FBI agent is highly interested in knowing where Lily’s been for the three months she was missing.  To complicate matters, Lillian is still alive.  As long as she’s alive, there’s still a possibility of her using her universe jumping skills to make Lily’s life miserable, which is exactly what happens.

Lillian’s goal was always to get Lily to take her place as head witch after death.  That goal hasn’t changed.  To get Lily to return, Lillian’s not above using Lily’s weakness – her loved ones.

Of course, Lillian’s bloody plan works and Lily returns to the alternate universe.  Her life is in even more danger this time since she doesn’t have her army to protect her.

While she’s trying to keep safe, she learns more about Lillian’s motives for her evil ways and asks questions about the Woven hoards.

Lily is definitely stronger in this book.  I’ve always said I love a female character that’s either strong to begin with or learns to be strong.  Lily is definitely on a learning curve, and it’s nice to see her amazing intellect kicking in.

I must admit that I was highly interested in how she would interact with prime Tristan since she now has Rowan.  Without giving way the surprise (or surprise for me) in this book, I’ll try and talk about Tristan and Rowan’s characters with as little plot explanation as possible.

When we last saw prime Tristan, he was partly responsible for Lily’s dismal party debut.  Let’s not mention his player ways and his copious man-whoring.  I also called him a d*** with legs.

(Now that I think of it, man-whore and d*** with legs are the same thing.  Who cares?  He made me so angry redundancy was well deserved).

Prime Tristan made up for everything in this book.  I begrudgingly began to like him in the beginning, and he was one of my favorite characters through the rest of the book.  He was kicking himself through a nice chunk of the book so I didn’t have to do it.  For those of you planning on reading the book after my little review, I’m leaving my Tristan critique there.

Rowan was still Lily’s equal.  Yet, we can’t have a great pair of lovers without insurmountable odds – or seemingly insurmountable odds.  When I thought he could tell the difference between Lily and Lillian, he proves me wrong.  He’s got to get over comparing the two and finding them alike.  I understand that they are two sides to the same coin, but they aren’t completely alike.

Nature and nurture work in tandem.  When one is different, the outcome will be different.  Lily was raised differently from Lillian under different circumstances.  Meaning, there are times where her and Lillian will think alike, but Lily will make decisions based on her different experiences.

This goes to show that nobody’s perfect and neither is Rowan.  In a big way.  All I have to say is “that’s cold, man.”  Read the book and I’m sure other readers will agree.

We learn a little more about the 13 cities, the Outlanders, and questions are raised concerning the Woven.

This is obviously a liberal trilogy, which enhances my immense liking of the books since I’m a raging Liberal.  Although, I am disappointed because in Lillian’s universe, the witches are one percenters who treat everyone who’s economically disadvantaged as cheap slave labor garbage.

Lily evens it out for me since she’s a crazy powerful witch from our universe and she’s good-hearted.  I’d like to think most witches in our universe are generally good people.

We learn that Outlanders aren’t the strictly white hatted good guys.  To be honest, a reader could tell there was more to the Outlander story in the first book.  Their leaders gave me an eerie feeling.

Last, Lily starts to question the actions of the Woven.  Such as, if Woven were animals, why do they kill indiscriminately for no reason?  Animals generally kill to eat or defend.  I hope Angelini answers all these questions about the Woven in the final book.

Admittedly, the beginning of the book was boring.  Yet, I promise if you stay with it, than it gets much better.  It further shatters the image that everything is black and white even though the world is made of color.  This trilogy is definitely a keeper and I can’t wait till the final book!

Future Book Reviews

***Will not be reviewed in this order.Books-2-icon

  • Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Suspicion by Alexandra Monir
  • Untamed: A Splintered Companion by A. G. Howard
  • Tear You Apart by Sarah Cross

Want to see what I’m currently reading or curious about past book reviews?  

Go to my Reading Common Sense page.

Leave a Reply

