Book Review: The Heart of Betrayal

Review News

This is a special review.  I received The Heart of Betrayal on Tuesday, but I haven’t had a chance to read it till yesterday.  When it arrived in my mailbox, I was in the middle of Throne of Glass.  I read it, I finished it, and here’s the review!

DSCN0496The Heart of Betrayal (Book #2 The Reverent Chronicles) by Mary E. Pearson


Barnes and Noble

When we left Lia, she was being led into the Kingdom of Venda by the Assassin.  The Prince – fearing for her life – let the enemy capture him to protect Lia.  He wasn’t sure how he was going to protect her, but something’s better than nothing.

In this book, we learn about the “barbarians” that inhabit Venda.  They aren’t exactly barbarians.  Instead, they are a group of people who received the short end of the stick when it came to prime real-estate.  What little fertile land they did have, has been slowly eaten away by the two surrounding kingdoms.  This situation leaves room for dubious characters to take the lead.

Enter the Komizar, a title held only if a person kills the current Komizar, and kept if that person’s ruthless enough.  The Komizar is also the man who ordered the murder of Lia.  Needless to say he was disappointed upon seeing her still alive and his Assassin infatuated with her.  Ever the opportunist, he sees the advantages in keeping her alive and using her to keep control over his kingdom.

Venda is more than just a desolate kingdom with corrupt politicians.  It’s a kingdom with deeply held secrets in the catacombs that’ll change the world.

I’m so impressed with the heroine, Lia, I don’t know where to start.  She’s thrown into a hazardous situation through no fault of her own.  Lia quickly learns the game of the Komizar and begins playing out of necessity.  The whole situation reminds me of a crazed chess game.

Also, if you pay attention, this series can be considered as post-apocalyptic.  Since it’s not a typical post-apocalyptic series (at least for me), it’s managed to keep my interest.  (If someone can tell me where Venda is supposedly located in “the real world,” I’ll give them a cyber cookie).

In the first book, Lia’s a spitfire.  Moving into the second book, she quickly becomes a brushfire.  She’s a little on the reckless side, but she’s awesomely strong.

The Prince is a straight arrow.  He’s concerned about his kingdom, but he’s committed to saving Lia.  Unfortunately, he’s a semi damsel in distress since he’s waiting for his four comrades to save them.  Yet, he’s not a passive player either.  The Prince conceals his identity by claiming to be an emissary and manages to convince the Komizar to keep him alive.  He also pretends to loath Lia to keep his cover and to keep leverage out of the Komizar’s hands, which Lia – being quick on the uptake – plays along.  The ruse is also to her advantage.

The Assassin character became more complicated.  He’s very close with the Komizar.  They’re like brothers.  In the book, he grapples with his loyalty to the Komizar and the kingdom while attempting to keep Lia safely in his care.

When it comes to Lia, his eyes are wide open.  Sometimes it seems the Assassin knows Lia better than she knows herself.  I don’t want to say that his eyes are closed when it comes to the Komizar.  They’re more slitted.  He sees the evilness lurking in the Komizar, but turns a blind eye.  What’s a little evil in a person as long as it’s for the good of the kingdom.  Yet, are the Komizar’s intentions for the good of the kingdom?

The ending took me by surprise and it cements my frustration.  Books ending on a cliffhanger are the exact reasons I should wait till the entire series is published!

I’m happy to say the book is a page-turner.  Currently, I’ve decided to keep the books on my shelf.  Since there’s obviously going to be more than three books in this series, I won’t make a final decision on it’s worthiness until the very end.  With so many pages left to go, Pearson could easily drop the ball.

Future Book Reviews

***Will not be reviewed in this order.

  • Cruel Beauty by Rosamund HodgeBooks-2-icon
  • Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
  • Gilded Ashes by Rosamund Hodge
  • Goddess Test Series by Aimee Carter
  • Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
  • Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini
  • Suspicion by Alexandra Monir
  • Throne of Glass Series (Books #1, 2, 3, 4) by Sarah J. Maas

Want to see what I’m currently reading or curious about past book reviews?  

Go to my Reading Common Sense page.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s